8th Annual Valley of the World Awards

The 8th Annual Valley of the World Awards was held at the Corral de Tierra Country Club on May 10, 2012.

Over the years it has become a proud community tradition to honor some very special individuals who have accomplished a great deal in their careers. These individuals have a broad understanding of the agricultural industry and the needs within this community. They are individuals with extraordinary personal and professional integrity, innovation, leadership and vision.

The event helps support the National Steinbeck Center’s Rabobank Agriculture Museum and proceeds from the event funds exhibitions and public programs held at the National Steinbeck Center throughout the year.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees:

2012 Valley of the World Education Award was presented to Carla Diane Wright

In the spirit of Steinbeck’s writings, this award recognizes an individual who through their teachings and efforts inspire and nourish a lifelong love of learning.

Carla Wright 2012 VOW Education Award

2012 Valley of the World Ag Leader Awards were presented to Bob Martin and Joe Pezzini

The Valley of the World Ag Leader award honors an individual whose work has broken new ground and/or who has added significantly to the industry while making a difference in the community in which they live.

Bob Martin, 2012 VOW Ag Leader Award   Joe Pezzini, 2012 Ag Leader Award

2012 Valley of the World Hall of Fame Award was presented to David M. Williams.

The Hall of Fame Award honors an individual who has led by example and is recognized as a role model in the agricultural industry who was/is involved in the betterment of the community at large.

David Williams, 2012 VOW Hall of Fame Award