9th Annual Valley of the World Awards

The 9th Annual Valley of the World Awards was held at the Corral de Tierra Country Club on April 25, 2013. 

The National Steinbeck Center established this event to recognize key pioneers of the Salinas Valley Agricultural Industry. The event helps to support the National Steinbeck Center's Rabobank Agriculture Museum and proceeds from the event funds exhibitions and public programs held at the National Steinbeck Center throughout the year.

This was a wonderful evening honoring very deserving individuals of incredible integrity and accomplishment and their families. Their lifetime achievements are testaments to the remarkable advancements in our industry - innovation, leadership, generosity and vision.  These are some of the qualities each of them share.

Congratulations to this Year’s Honorees:

2013 Valley of the World Hall of Fame Award was presented to M.B. McFarland & Sons, Inc.

Gerald McFarland
Myron McFarland, Sr. (Posthumously)
Myron McFarland, Jr. (Posthumously)

The Hall of Fame Award honors individuals who have lead by example and are recognized as role models in the agricultural industry.  Honorees are/where involved in the betterment of the community at large.

MB McFarland and Sons 2013 VOW Hall of Fame Award
(Colleen Bailey, Kelly McFarland, Richard Smith, Lorri Koster, Sandra Silva)

2013 Valley of the World Ag Leader Award was presented to Bob Gray and Laura Giudici Mills

The Ag Leader Award honors an individual whose work has broken new ground and/or who has added significantly to the industry while making a difference in the community in which they live.

Bob Gray, 2013 VOW Ag Leader Award
(Colleen Bailey, Bob Gray, Joe Pezzini, Sandra Silva)

Laura Giudici Mills 2013 VOW Ag Leader Award
(Lorri Koster, Laura Giudici Mills, Sandra Silva)

2013 Education Award was presented to Neil Ledford and Grower Shipper Association Foundation’s AgKnowledge Program

In the spirit of Steinbeck's writings, the Education Award recognizes an individual who through their teachings and efforts inspired or nourished a lifelong love of learning.

Neil Ledford, 2013 VOW Education Award
(Colleen Bailey, Lorri Koster, Neil Ledford, Sandra Silva)

AgKnowledge 2013 VOW Education Award
(Colleen Bailey, Lorri Koster, Darlene Din, Martin Orradre, Sandra Silva)

2013 VOW Committee Chairs
(Chris Steinbruner, NSC Board Chair, Colleen Bailey, NSC Executive Director, Susan Gill and Lorri Koster, Valley of the World Awards Committee Chairs)